The Byrds

About The Byrds

L-R Jim McGuinn, Gene Clark, Michael Clarke, Chris, and David Crosby

In 1964, Chris with James Roger McGuinn, David Crosby, Gene Clark, and Michael Clarke formed The Byrds.

Columbia Records initially signed them to a ‘singles contract’. The success of the number one single, “Mr. Tambourine Man”, brought a long term contract with Columbia.

Recording the albums; “Mr. Tambourine Man” and “Turn! Turn! Turn!” through Gene Clark’s departure. Following the recording of “Fifth Dimension”, and “Younger Than Yesterday”, David Crosby would depart. “The Notorious Byrd Brothers”, would be the final album with Michael Clarke on drums.

Chris departed following “The Sweetheart of the Rodeo” album.Along with “Mr. Tambourine Man”, came the hit singles, “Turn! Turn! Turn!”, “All I Really Want To Do”, “Eight Miles High”, “So You Want To Be A Rock n Roll Star”. Numerous albums achieved gold and platinum status. Four of their recordings are in the Grammy Hall of Fame.In 1973 they would record their last studio album together, “The Byrds”.They made their mark on popular culture and music and were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1991.